: ( 301)
White prevents a larger eye for Black. However, playing from below loses a move. This is also shown in the theory chapter as FLAG 8a2 ( 1043).
Please note that the exchange of / has not been played yet.
: (C 306)
It might be tempting to take Black's eye by connecting at , but will not work.
:
Black must not throw-in at , instead. This move would change the parity of the ko in the centre, and favour White.
:
White takes the vital point on the upper edge. That will at least avoid losing the game.
White cannot connect at , instead, because this would lose a second move.
:
However, White has not yet filled in her second false eye, at .
:
The marked stones (//) form a triple-ko. So, this variation ends with "no result", according to Japanese, and Korean, rules. This is also shown in the theory chapter as FLAG 8b ( 1047). Black succeeds due to White's mistake with her initial move .